Recently, former Pittsburgh Steelers lineback Jamir Jones debuted for the Los Angeles Rams and had an incredibly impactful debut from the looks of it and became a viral sensation because of it.

Late in the third quarter of the game between the Rams and Seahawks, Seattle had a fourth and 14 from deep in its own territory, setting up a punt from its own 21-yard line.

Seahawks punter Michael Dickson made his way out in order to punt, but his kick was blocked by Jones, who blasted through the middle of Seattle’s protection without breaking a sweat.

Due to a lack of Rams players near him, Dickson was able to gather up the ball at the 11-yard line. He kicked it after running with the ball for 10 yards with the second punt travelling 68 yards.


The officials threw a flag on the play as Dickson’s second kick should have been penalized due to him having crossed the line of scrimmage. Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk would explain how the play went.

“A second punt after a blocked punt does not violate the rules, as long as both kicks happen behind the line of scrimmage and the ball has not crossed the line of scrimmage. … However, the second punt must be behind the line of scrimmage. The available video evidence shows that the punter had crossed the line when the ball was kicked a second time.

It should have been a foul. Because plays involving the line of scrimmage are reviewable, the Rams could have thrown the challenge flag. They did not.”

In the end, the Rams won the game and improved to 4-1 on the season while the Seahawks fell to 2-3.

What’s your take on this story? Sound off in the comments!

Subhojeet Mukherjee

Subhojeet provides daily coverage of entertainment news and updates at Thirsty for News. He's always on the lookout for the latest and greatest in the world of entertainment, sharing his thoughts and insights with readers. Whether it's breaking news or in-depth analysis, Subhojeet is dedicated to bringing his readers the best and most accurate information.

Disqus Comments Loading...