MTV has announced that they will alter the usual hosting structure for the upcoming Video Music Awards. According to the release, Nicki Minaj, LL Cool J, and Jack Harlow will take charge of the ceremony and will be the new hosts.

The event has previously been hosted by Doja Cat, Keke Palmer, Sebastian Maniscalco, and others. In a statement released on Thursday, MTV stated that they’d be altering the traditional hosting format.

“taking a more innovative and unique approach to the traditional ‘host’ gig seen in previous years.”

Both Minaj and Harlow are nominated for awards at the upcoming show. With seven nominations each, Harlow, Kendrick Lamar, and Lil Nas X are tied for the most; Doja Cat and Harry Styles each got six. Following closely behind with five each are Billie Eilish, Drake, Dua Lipa, Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift, and The Weeknd.

Minaj, who is also set to perform, will receive the coveted Video Vanguard Award. Elton John, Madonna, David Bowie, and Jennifer Lopez have all won the award before. Minaj’s “Do We Have A Problem?” which she recorded along with Lil Baby is also nominated for the “Best Hip-Hop Video” category.

Lizzo, Mneskin, Blackpink, Anitta, J Balvin, Marshmello x Khalid, and Panic! at the Disco are also set to perform, in addition to Minaj and Harlow. The VMAs will be broadcast live from the Prudential Center on Sunday, August 28 at 8:00 p.m. ET. Stay tuned to Thirsty for more updates.

What’s your take on this? Please write down in the comments below!

Smita Singha Roy

Smita is an engineering student with a passion for learning and exploring new things. She is an enthusiastic and determined individual who enjoys reading newspapers, studying people, history and storytelling. She also likes to watch movies to gain new perspectives and enrich her life experience. Smita is an artist and enjoys cooking and playing the guitar in her free time.

Disqus Comments Loading...