Sharon Gless is best known as Cagney from the legendary TV hit “Cagney & Lacey”. She recently wrote a memoir, titled “Apparently There Were Complaints”. In the book, she talks about one major star who she had a formative experience with regarding her sexuality.

In a 2005 episode of “Queer as Folk,” Gless had a scene where she was supposed to kiss guest star Rosie O’Donnell. After the scene, Rosie sent her a bouquet of roses with a note telling her she was a good kisser. The actress began to question herself, according to TMZ.

“I was flattered … It was the first time I’d heard that from a woman. But, then again, it was the first time I’d ever kissed a woman.”

Sharon and Rosie met up for dinner some time later. During the evening, Gless worked up her nerves. She asked O’Donnell if she thought Gless might be gay.

Rosie immediately shot down the notion, however. She said she’s definitely straight. The mystery was apparently solved.

Fans of Cagney & Lacey speculated at the time that Sharon Gless might be gay. She said she gave it her best shot, but it didn’t work out. She said if you can’t make it work with the “number one lesbian on the planet,” it’s not meant to be. Sharon has been married to Barry Rosenzweig since 1991.

What do you think of this story? Let us know in the comments!

Michael Perry

Michael Perry is a news contributor for Ringside News and Thirsty for News. Michael has an M.A. in Communication Technology from Point Park University in his hometown of Pittsburgh, PA.

Disqus Comments Loading...